Book Review: The Body by Stephen King

Publisher: Penguin Books
Date Published: December 20th 1999
Pages: 80 pages
Format: Paperback
Genre: Thriller Novella
My Rating: 4 out of 5 bubbles
Goodreads Description: Four rambunctious young boys plunge through the facade of a small town and come face-to-face with life, death, and intimations of their own mortality.

First off I would like to say if you would like to read the unabridged version you must read this short story in the anthology Different Seasons by Stephen King. The format I described above is a young readers version from Penguin. I used this version to mark it read on goodreads since I only read The Body and not the other stories.

I am currently taking a class called Literature Based Movies. This class we read books and watch their movie companions to analyze the differences. This was the first book I read for this course and I was pleasantly surprised. I loved this novella very much. I was so invested in the boys lives I needed to know what happened. The unabridged version has lots of swearing in it and some graphic details. I would recommend to mature audiences. If you didn’t know the movie Stand by Me is the based off of this novella. I personally liked the book a lot better but the movie is still really good.

Happy Reading,
Bubbles ❤

Leave a Reply

