Book Review: Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

23995368

Publisher: Vintage
Date Published: June 2nd 2015
Pages: 333
Format: Paperback
Genre: Post-Apocalyptic
My Rating: 3 out of 5 bubbles
Goodreads Description: Kirsten Raymonde will never forget the night Arthur Leander, the famous Hollywood actor, had a heart attack on stage during a production of King Lear. That was the night when a devastating flu pandemic arrived in the city, and within weeks, civilization as we know it came to an end. Twenty years later, Kirsten moves between the settlements of the altered world with a small troupe of actors and musicians. They call themselves The Traveling Symphony, and they have dedicated themselves to keeping the remnants of art and humanity alive. But when they arrive in St. Deborah by the Water, they encounter a violent prophet who will threaten the tiny band’s existence. And as the story takes off, moving back and forth in time, and vividly depicting life before and after the pandemic, the strange twist of fate that connects them all will be revealed

I got this book for Christmas and was so excited. I actually think I screamed when I opened it. Ever since I first heard about the story I wanted to read it. I picked it up in January, but then school picked up and I didn’t get to finish it until April. However, I do believe my opinions of this book would be the same if I read it straight through. Something I did not know going into this book is how many view point it has. It had sooo many, almost every character we meet had some sort of view point. It was hard to remember who you were reading from. Also the font is very small and the paragraphs are very long. This slowed me down A LOT when reading. Sometime I would have to re read a whole page to understand what was going on. I really wanted to love this book, but I found myself very bored until about the last 100 pages and even then it was a hit or miss. I definitely liked some characters more than overs, but I did like trying to figure out how they were all connected. I overall didn’t hate it, but it also won’t be on my favorites list.

Happy Reading,
Bubbles ❤

Leave a Reply

