Biannual Bibliothon: Book Review The Secret of Laurel Oaks by Lois Ruby

Hello Readers, Today is the second day of the Biannual Bibliothon and the second blog challenge is to write a book review hosted by MissSassyKassie you can find her blog here, her instagram here, and her youtube channel here. Today I am going to be reviewing The Secret of Laurel Oaks by Lois Ruby.

Publisher: Starscape
Publisher Date: September 29th 2009 (first published September 2nd 2008)
Page: 288
Format: Paperback
Genre: Historical Paranormal Mystery
My Rating: 4 out of 5 bubbles
Goodreads Description: A haunting historical mystery based on real life events, told in the alternating points of view of a contemporary girl and a 19th century slave accused of a horrible crime. When Lila and her family visit Laurel Oaks Plantation in Louisiana, her parents and brother scoff at the claim that the house is haunted. But secretly, Lila suspects there are ghostly presences willing to communicate with her, and her alone. One spirit eager to tell her story is Daphne, a slave girl at Laurel Oaks in the 1840s, who was blamed for the poisoning deaths of two girls and their mother. Daphne’s spirit senses that Lila is the very person she’s been waiting for, the one who can prove her innocence so her spirit can rest at long last. Shifting back and forth from Lila’s world in the present to Daphne’s world in the past, the true story of what really happened that fateful night finally comes to light. Laurel Oaks is a thinly disguised version of the legendary Myrtles Plantation in Louisiana, which is on the Smithsonian’s list of the ten most haunted places in America. This middle grade novel was inspired by the author’s visit to the plantation and her experiences there.

I bought this book at my school book fair years and years ago. I bought it because at the time I was obsessed with the Myrles Plantation Haunting and the Winchester Mansion haunting. Two ghost stories I recommend researching I thought they were fascinating. Anyways, I started reading this book years ago then got distracted by other books. I decided to restart it during the 24hourathon and very glad I did. I ended up finishing it and I loved it. I ended up rounding up my goodreads rating. I would rate it a 3.75 starts out of 5. I really did enjoy the story and plot, but to be honest it was a pretty average book. I like to read Ghost stories, but I have to be careful at night cause some can get to my head. This one did not scare me too much. Yes, it was a ghost story but the plot was more about solving the mystery and learning the facts. Normally, I tend not to like books that go back and forth between time periods because they often confuse me. However, in this book I enjoyed how the two POV were in the different time periods. I also love all the history that poured into this story. I would recommend this book if you want quick ghost story that is not too scary with a touch of history.

Happy Reading,
Bubbles ❤

Leave a Reply

